Parliament

The Вестминстерский дворец это место встречи Палаты общин и Палаты лордов, the two houses of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. Широко известный как Палаты парламента после того, как его жильцов, the Palace lies on the Middlesex bank of the River Thames in the City of Westminster, in central London. Its name, which derives from the neighbouring Westminster Abbey, может относиться к одному из двух структур: the Старый дворец, средневековый комплекс зданий, который был разрушен в результате пожара в 1834, и его замена Новый дворец что стоит сегодня. Для церемониальных целей, дворец сохраняет свой оригинальный стиль и статус в качестве королевской резиденции.

Первый королевский дворец был построен на месте в одиннадцатом веке, и Вестминстер был основным лондонская резиденция королей Англии, пока пожар не уничтожил большую часть комплекса в 1512. После этого, оно служило домом парламента, которые встречались там с тринадцатого века, и резиденцией Королевского суда, базирующаяся в Вестминстерском зале и вокруг него. В 1834, еще больший пожар опустошил сильно перестроенные здания парламента, и только структуры, имеющие значение, чтобы выжить были Вестминстер Холл, монастырь Святого Стефана, Часовня Святой Марии Undercroft и Jewel Tower.

Последующее конкурс на реконструкцию Дворца был выигран архитектором Чарльзом Барри и его дизайн для здания в стиле Перпендикулярно готическом. Остатки старого дворца (за исключением обособленного Jewel Tower) были включены в гораздо большей замены, которая содержит более 1,100 номера организованы симметрично вокруг двух серий двориках.

Достопримечательности Лондона |

Parliament

The Palace of Westminster is the meeting place of the House of Commons and the House of Lords, the two houses of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. Commonly known as the Houses of Parliament after its tenants, the Palace lies on the Middlesex bank of the River Thames in the City of Westminster, in central London. Its name, which derives from the neighbouring Westminster Abbey, may refer to either of two structures: the Old Palace, a medieval building complex that was destroyed by fire in 1834, and its replacement New Palace that stands today. For ceremonial purposes, the palace retains its original style and status as a royal residence.

The first royal palace was built on the site in the eleventh century, and Westminster was the primary London residence of the Kings of England until a fire destroyed much of the complex in 1512. After that, it served as the home of Parliament, which had been meeting there since the thirteenth century, and the seat of the Royal Courts of Justice, based in and around Westminster Hall. In 1834, an even greater fire ravaged the heavily rebuilt Houses of Parliament, and the only structures of significance to survive were Westminster Hall, the Cloisters of St Stephen’s, the Chapel of St Mary Undercroft and the Jewel Tower.

The subsequent competition for the reconstruction of the Palace was won by architect Charles Barry and his design for a building in the Perpendicular Gothic style. The remains of the Old Palace (with the exception of the detached Jewel Tower) were incorporated in its much larger replacement, which contains over 1,100 rooms organised symmetrically around two series of courtyards.

London attractions |